Thread: Android phone, Verizon, to use with SquareUp

Android phone, Verizon, to use with SquareUp

Advice please - Android phone and cell phone plan.

Infrequent phone user needs an Android cell phone (or Apple) to use SquareUp to take credit cards while selling at farmers market. I am a vegetable and poultry farmer, so will likely scratch/lose/drop in puddle/get dirt in it, hard as I try not to, so don't want to spend $250. I would like to use voice recognition to enter data in spreadsheets and/or Word docs, to keep dirty fingers off. There is also a farm mgt cloud software coming online later this year that sounds great, except it will mean data usage. I would turn it on briefly to enter a harvest weight, note planting number/date/location, time spent on a task, etc - short usage. Maybe take a photo of something strange. I do NOT anticipate watching videos, video messaging, playing games, checking email, etc. I might make a short Facebook/Twitter entry on market days, but wouldn't be checking them on the phone frequently. Screen visibility in bright daylight is VERY important. Will communicate with employees via cell phone, and they use texting more than voice. One of the markets I go to has WiFi, two don't. I DO want an MP3 player.

Which reminds me - dumb question - I have an HP Pavilion dv9810 notebook. It has a "Wireless" switch on the front. Is that WiFi??

I am not in the Sprint data area, so Page Plus looks like least expensive plan for limited use. We have a Tracfone now, since finally getting coverage last year, but have buying the least refills, have many more minutes than we use.

SquareUp has a list of phones it has tested successfully. They include the LG Ally and Droids. Another farmer on a listserv turned me on the PagePlus, and uses/likes his Ally. Says it costs about 8 cents to do a credit card transaction. He has $29.95 plan, but their second phone is pay as you go Standard plan and says for them that is the more economical plan.