Thread: Trying to understand clean/clear ESN versus unlocked

Trying to understand clean/clear ESN versus unlocked

Hi all,

I am a newbie. I have been using PagePlus for a while but only with simple phones that friends have discarded. I am in the market for a Android phone for PP, probably Droid 2 or Droid X.

I have been looking on ebay but I cannot tell if a phone will work. I know I can use the ESN check service on Kitty and I will, but I do not want to do this over and over only to find that the phone will not work on PP.

I am looking at a Droid 2 on ebay. It is described this way:

Barely used Motorola Droid 2. Fantastic phone does everything, however I want to go back to a Blackberry for work purposes.

I recently sent a message to the seller, who claims to be a Verizon employee, about using it on PP and this was his response:

It can work with pageplus, but phone is not unlocked,currently it is locked to Verizon Wireless.
    They are some great and cheap websites that can unlock phone for a small of between $10 to $15.

Is this possible? Are there websites that can unlock a phone? If I did a ESN check at Kitty and it passes, does that mean it is guaranteed to work on PP? If it fails, does it give the reason like bad ESN versus locked?

If a seller says the ESN is clean or clear does that mean it should be unlocked?

Thanks,
    Mark

Verizon phones do not get locked or unlocked. GSM phones do (AT&T, T-mobile, etc.) If this person really is a Verizon employee then they are sadly uneducated/misinformed about this situation.

If you do an ESN Check with Kitty, and it passes, it means it's clear FOR THAT MOMENT. It does not guarantee anything, as the ESN Check will tell you, because we have never seen your device and cannot speak for the history of it.

The term "unlocked" is not used with Verizon devices. UNLOCKED is used with GSM devices with SIM Cards only.

Thanks,
    Kitty